|
Connect with us: Subscribe to the paper | View the mobile edition | Get daily e-mail news | Get mobile alerts | Share your photos | Report news | Place an ad | Contact us
|
|
Another phony Wachovia e-mailPosted 12:12 p.m., May 9, 2008 Another “phishing” e-mail purporting to be from Wachovia Bank is making the rounds today. It bears the usual warning markers: The return path is theburningcrus@theburningcrusade.pl, the address of a “World of Warcraft” fan site in Poland, not a major bank in North Carolina. The text is written in non-standard English (“We are encountering some unidentified card usage, this is why we have issued out this notice to all our online users to update their banking information. Click the below link to login for update and verify your banking records.”) The “below link” (which you can verify in Outlook by right-clicking on the message, then selecting “View Source” from the menu that pops up) leads to the Web site of a furniture company in Germany. That site has been disabled already, a sign that the security folks at Wachovia are on the job. Still, it’s a better effort than this one, purporting to come from “Dr. Agogo Sein”: “Hello my good friend, “How are you today Hope all is well with you and your family I am using this opportunity to inform you that this mlti-million-dollar business has been concluded with the assistance of another partner from Chile who financed the transaction to a logical conclusion. Due to your effort and sincerity, courage and trust worthiness You showed during the course of the transaction. I have left a certified international International bank cheque for you worth of $1,200,000.00 cashable anywhere in the world.” Interestingly, Dr. Sein’s e-mail address also is in Poland, despite the fact that he claims to represent parties in Benin and Chile. Somehow I plumb forgot this “transaction,” despite the strenuous (and courageous!) efforts I seem to have made to enable it. Or in other words, it's hard to imagine someone being dumb enough or foolishly greedy enough to think they'll get a real, "cashable" $1.2 million "cheque" out of it. |
|
|
|
|
Comments
Post a comment